Sports at HBS: Nourishing the Weekend Warrior

Amid the confusion surrounding orientation, add/drop, and general de-tox from your summer internship, it may seem hard to find time for yet another activity. While most of us make it out to Grafton’s and the Kong three nights a week, it’s equally important to nourish the body and soul… And your 15 minutes on the stair-climber at Shad doesn’t count.

Fortunately, members of the HBS community have a cornucopia of clubs from which to choose. Whether it be carousing with the Rugby team during their annual trek to Montreal or blowing off Hell Week to go surfing, there is undoubtedly a group of like-minded individuals out there that share a common athletic interest. Check out the following student organizations on Sept 20-21 during this year’s Club Fair and pretend you’re 18 all over again.

Basketball Club
Annual Events: 3-on-3 Tournament
Club Contacts: Matt Louie, mlouie@mba2006.hbs.edu; John Kirkowski, jkirkowski@mba2006.hbs.edu

Boat Club (Rowing)
Annual Events: Head of the Charles Regatta, Graduate Schools Championship Regatta
Club Contacts: Dave Bordeau, dbordeau@mba2006.hbs.edu; Maegan Plagge, mplagge@mba2006.hbs.edu

B-School Blades
Annual Events: HBS Tournament, Dartmouth Tournament, Outings to Bruins games
Club Contacts: Tom Casarella, tcasarella@mba2006.hbs.edu

Business of Sports Club
Annual Events: Speaker Series, Career Panel, Business of Sports Trek,
Club Contacts: Chris Harlan, charlan@mba2006.hbs.edu; Erica Keany, ekeany@mba2006.hbs.edu; Frank Yang, fyang@mba2006.hbs.edu

Dance Club
Club Contacts: Michael Lester, mlester@mba2006.hbs.edu

Golf Club
Annual Events: HBS Golf Tournament
Club Contacts: Kevin White, kwhite@mba2006.hbs.edu; Philip Hall, phall@mba2006.hbs.edu

Outdoors Club
Annual Events: Regional Hiking & Climbing, Adventure Trekking, Winter Break Ski Trip, Whitewater Rafting, Scuba Diving Certification, Area Biking
Club Contacts: Agnes Sauvage, asauvage@mba2006.hbs.edu

Rugby Football Club
Annual Events: Fall Saturday NERFU matches, McGill Fall Classic, Wharton Tournament, Winter tour (e.g. San Diego, Cayman Islands), MBA World Championships
Club Contacts: Pascal Ambrosi, pambrosi@mba2006.hbs.edu; Andrew Heffernan, aheffernan@mba2006.hbs.edu

Sailing Club
Annual Events: Spring Break Cruising Trip, HBS Regatta
Club Contacts: Matthieu Grosclaude, mgrosclaude@mba2006.hbs.edu; Christa Bowdish, cbowdish@mba2006.hbs.edu

Ski & Snowboard Club
Annual Events: The White Party, Various trips,
Club Contacts: Thorsten Toepfer, ttoepfer@mba2006.hbs.edu; Philipp-Moritz Russmeyer, prussmeyer@mba2006.hbs.edu; Andrew Fortier, afortier@mba2006.hbs.edu

Soccer Club
Annual Events: Fall Graduate School League, Yale Cup, UT Austin Tournament, Winter Indoor Tournament, MBA Soccer World Cup, Pick-Up Matches
Club Contacts: Brian Drab, bdrab@mba2006.hbs.edu; Goncalo Lucas Mendes, glucasmendes@mba2006.hbs.edu; Brandon Boothe, bboothe@mba2006.hbs.edu

Squash and Tennis Club
Annual Events: Fall Tennis Tournament, Spring Inter-B-School Tennis Tournament, Spring Beginner/Intermediate Clinic
Club Contacts: Konstantin Pesotsky, kpesotsky@mba2006.hbs.edu; Alysia Wurst, awurst@mba2006.hbs.edu

Surfing Club
Annual Events: Weekly trips during storm season, weekend trips to the Cape, Nantucket
Club Contacts: Ventura Pobre, vpobre@mba2006.hbs.edu; Joao Santos, jsantos@mba2006.hbs.edu Javier Rigau Pages, jrigaupages@mba2006.hbs.edu

Triathlon Club
Annual Events: Weekly training, Lobsterman Triathlon, Indoor Winter Triathlon
Club Contacts: Kate Kohler, kkohler@mba2006.hbs.edu; Brit Smith, bdsmith@mba2006.hbs.edu

Volleyball Club
Annual Events: Fall Tournament, Wharton Spring Tournament, Spring 3-on-3 Outdoor Tournament, Weekly practices

Yoga & Wellness Club
Annual Events: New club in 2005.
Club Contacts: Bianca Ling, bling@mba2006.hbs.edu; Lee Cohen, lcohen@mba2006.hbs.edu

Related Articles:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>